For the second time, a gospel artiste has won the topmost award at the VGMAs. After Joe Mettle’s 2017 feat; fellow gospel act Diana Hamilton has won the Artiste of the Year on the final night of the 22nd edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards on Saturday, June 26.

Kidi stormed off the event hall after the announcement of Diana Hamilton’s win. Hours after, he took to his social media platform, thanking God Almighty as well as Ghanaians for the support given to push him to be part of the nominees worthy of being crowned the overall artiste of the year.

He stated: “To God be the Glory. Thank you Ghana. Huge congrats Aunty Diana”.
To God be the Glory. Thank you, Ghana”.

Below is the list of winners:
1. Artiste of the Year- Diana Hamilton
2. Album of the Year- Araba – Adina
3. Hip-Hop Song of the Year- Sore – Yaw Tog ft O’kenneth, City Boy, Reggie, Jay Bahd
4. Highlife Song of the Year- Enjoyment – KiDi
5. Gospel Song of the Year- Adom – Diana Hamilton
6. Hiplife Song of the Year- No Dulling – Keche ft. Kuami Eugene
7. Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year- Why – Adina
8. Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year- Epixode
9. Afrobeats/Afropop Song of the Year- Say Cheese – KiDi
10. EP of the Year- Blue EP – KiDi
11. Best Collaboration of the Year- Happy Day – Sarkodie ft Kuami Eugene
12. International Collaboration of the Year- Baajo – Kwesi Arthur ft. JoeyBoy
13. Best Rap Performance- Eno Barony – God Is A Woman
14. Best New Artiste of the Year- Mr Drew
15. Vodafone Most Popular Song of the Year- Adom – Diana Hamilton
16. Hiplife/Hip-Hop Artiste of the Year- Medikal
17. Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year- Ras Kuuku
18. Highlife Artiste of the Year- Kuami Eugene
19. Afrobeat/Afropop Artiste of the Year- KiDi
20. Gospel Artiste of the Year- Diana Hamilton
21. Record of the Year- Daddy’s Little Girl – Adina
22. Sound Engineer of the year- Richie Mensah
23. Instrumentalist of the Year- Nana Yaw Sarfo
24. Traditional Artiste of the Year- Manhyia Tete Nwomkro
25. Songwriter of the Year- Kofi Kinaata – Behind the Scenes
26. Music for Good- Yaayaa
27. Male Vocalist of the Year- MOGmusic – Oguamma
28. Female Vocalist of the Year- Abiana – Adun Lei
29. Best Group of the Year- Keche
30. Producer of the Year- Richie Mensah
31. Best African Artiste- Master KG
32. Best Video of the Year- Baddest Boss – MzVee
33. Lifetime Achievement Award- Bob Pinodo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *